Enquiry 2024


Office of Research

The Office of Research is functioning to implement the VMRF-DU strategic plan by nurturing and promoting interdisciplinary research culture and encouraging collaborations at national and international level to achieve the highest ethical standards in research.

This office is the point of contact for the following issues:

  • Preparation and submission of research proposals.
  • Provide guidance and to Identify the source of funding from different funding agencies.
  • Provide guidance for initiating inter-disciplinary university research programs and formation of research units within the VMRF-DU institutions.
  • Periodic review of research activities.
  • Review of proposals submitted by the PIs.
  • Complaints pertaining to research misconduct.
  • To address research grievances.


Dr. S.A.V. Satya Murty Director - RESEARCH

Dr. S.A.V. Satya Murty


Dr. S.A.V Satya Murty is currently working as Director - Research in Vinayaka Mission's Research Foundation (A Deemed to be University). Prior to joining VMRF, Dr. Satya Murty worked as Distinguished Scientist & Director of Indira Gandhi Centre of Atomic Research, Kalpakkam, the second largest R&D institute of Department of Atomic Energy, Government of India. Prior to that he held various senior Positions in IGCAR and has an excellent R&D career. Subsequent to his superannuation, he held Raja Ramanna Fellowship for two years.

Dr. Satya Murty had a distinguished academic career. He did his B.Tech from Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University and was awarded Gold Medal for getting University First Rank. Subsequently he did one year Orientation Course in Nuclear Science & Technology at the training school of Bhabha Atomic Research Centre and was awarded Homi Bhabha Award for getting First Rank. He did his Ph.D from Homi Bhabha National Institute.

He has more than 200 Publications in peer reviewed Journals and international & national conferences, Four book chapters, many design reports etc. He is the Editor of Two International Journals and one national journal.

Dr. Satya Murty was conferred many awards including INS Outstanding Service Award 2011 from Indian Nuclear Society in the category of Nuclear Reactor Technology including Reactor Safety, Group Achievement award as Group Leader in the years 2011, 2012, 2014 from DAE, Life Time Achievement Award by Institute of Engineers (Kalpakkam Chapter) in the year 2016.


Dr.S. Suriyanarayanan. M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D

Deputy Director Research

Dr.S. Suriyanarayanan. M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D is the Deputy Director Research of VMRF- Deemed to be University. As Deputy Director, Dr.Suriyanarayanan overseeing the implementation and delivery of the Research and Impact strategy and providing a comprehensive, high quality research planning function to the University and it s constituent colleges. Prior to this position, Dr. Suriyanarayanan served as Project coordinator, Faculty, Head of the department (I/c) at the Department of Water and Health, JSS University, Mysuru, India. He also served as Science Officer for SCOPE Beijing Office, RCEES, Beijing, China from April 2015 – March 2017.

He has research experiences in the areas of Environmental Monitoring, Radiation Ecology and Environmental Microbiology. He is an active member of scientific societies and other membership bodies. He is a recipient of Young Scientist research grant award from SERB, Department of Science and Technology, Government of India. He secured the prestigious award of visiting scientist fellowship of Chinese Academy of Sciences during the year 2016-2017.Dr.Suriyanarayanan has been a visiting faculty to Faculty of Sciences, KhonKaen University, Thailand.

He was recognised as Chairperson for Many national and International conferences. Also serving as Editorial Board Member for peer reviewed Journals. Dr.Suriyanarayanan has participated in more than 20 national and international conferences and presented papers. He published more than 40 research articles in National and International Journals.



Deputy Director Research

Dr.R.Jaichandran is currently working as Deputy Director Research-VMRF and Professor in Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Aarupadai Veedu Institute of Technology (AVIT), Vinayaka Mission’s Research Foundation (VMRF), Chengalpattu District, Tamil Nadu, and India. He obtained his B.Tech degree in Information Technology in from Madras University in the year of 2004, M.E. in Computer Science and Engineering in first class with distinction from Anna University in the year 2006. Obtained Ph.D., in Computer Science and Engineering from Vinayaka Missions Research Foundation (Deemed to be University) in the year 2017. He has 18 years of experience in academics, industry, research, and development activities. He has held various positions as Assistant professor, Associate Professor, Professor, Head of the department, and Deputy Director Research. His area of Interest includes Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Block Chain Technology, Big Data Analytics, Cyber Security, Internet of Things (IoT), but not limited to.

He has developed many innovative projects in the area of Internet of Things and Machine learning. Some of his projects got selected for AICTE- Chhatra Vishwakarma Awards in 2019 and 2018. Selected as regional winner (South Zone) and exhibited the project at Nation Level Convention held

at AICTE headquarters, New Delhi on 20th and 21st January 2019. Received grants for executing innovative projects from reputed organizations like Tamil Nadu State Council for Science and Technology, and Computer Society of India. 5 patents are granted, 2 patents are in published state and 2 patents are in filed state. Published 74 research papers in referred Journals and Conferences indexed in Web of Science, Scopus, IEEE, UGC Care, Google Scholar, etc. Published 1 book and 5 book chapters. Guiding Ph.D., Scholars in VMRF, Phd., awarded to 1 research scholar, 7 research scholars are doing research in emerging areas like Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Block Chain Technology, etc. He has attended 84 Faculty development programs /Workshops/ Seminars. Delivered 35 Special lecturers in various reputed organizations. Peer reviewed manuscripts for many reputed international Journals / Conferences.

He was awarded as discipline star in Computer Science & Engineering by NPTEL in January-April 2021. Awarded A+ Grade two times by Infosys in Campus Connect Train the Trainer Program. Received Best Researcher Award - TESFA 2017 - Received from Honorable Chief Minister of Pondicherry Thiru V. Narayanasamy. Won Best Project Award in VISAI 2013 – International Project Competition and Exhibition. He is member in Computer Society of India (CSI), Indian Society of Technical Education (ISTE), Association of Computer Electronics and Electrical Engineers (ACEEE), Member in International Association of Engineers (IAENG), Institute for Engineering Research and Publication (IFERP), The Society of Digital Information and Wireless Communications (SDIWC).